“Trusting that this coming first excursion may be enjoyed by all and that it may be the beginning of annual gatherings of like character for our mutual benefit and the fuller knowledge of our great out-of-door science, I remain faithfully yours.” — Harry N. Eaton, Syracuse University, April 25, 1925


NYSGA Annual Meeting

October 12-14, 2018
90th Meeting
New York State Geological Association Field Conference
will be held jointly with the
110th Meeting 

New England Intercollegiate Geological Conference

Location: Fort William Henry Hotel, Lake George, NY
Hosts:  Colgate & Castleton Universities
Organizers:  William Peck and Timothy Grover


Register for Meeting


Planned Schedule

Friday Oct. 12, Field trips starting in AM (see Field Trips for details), Welcome Reception in evening
Saturday Oct. 13, Field Trips, Banquet dinner
Sunday Oct. 14, Field Trips

This year's conference will honor Bruce Selleck and William Kidd for their numerous contributions to our understanding of the geology and geological evolution of the Adirondacks, Taconics, and the Champlain Valley. Field trips will explore the bedrock and surficial geology of these areas.

For more information about the conference please contact Tim Grover (tim.grover@castleton.edu) or William Peck (wpeck@colgate.edu). If you are interested in running a field trip please contact                    Helen Mango  (helen.mango@castleton.edu) or Martin Wong (mswong@colgate.edu).


Future Conferences

2018 Field Conference of Pennsylvania Geologists (FCPG), Oct. 4-6
2018 Geological Association of New Jersey (GANJ), Oct. 19-20
2019 NYSGA Annual Meeting - Joint Meeting with the New York State Council of Professional Geologists (NYSCPG), Geneva, NY (contact Cheryl Neary: cheryln@islandpumpandtank.com)
2020 NYSGA Annual Meeting, Buffalo State University, Buffalo, NY (contact: Gary Solar: solargs@buffalostate.edu)
2021 NYSGA Annual Meeting, SUNY Oswego, Oswego, NY (contact David Valentino: David.valentino@oswego.edu)